Ashraf Burns voted in as WPCA President

On Wednesday night, the Western Province Cricket Association Members Council voted in Ashraf Burns as the president of the Western Province Cricket Association.

Burns had held the role in an acting capacity since former WPCA president Nicolas Kock’s resignation in August 2020.

In other appointments on the night, Johannes Adams was appointed unopposed as vice president, whilst the final two non-independent directors positions were confirmed with the appointment of Shawn Christiansen and Niyaaz Ebrahim and two new independent directors, Saliem Mohamed and Ruben Johannes have also been ratified.

“I appreciate the support and will continue to be here to serve cricket. I’m a cricketing man and am happy with the hard work our cricket committee is putting in,” said Burns on his permanent appointed.

“When the premature resignation of Nic came about, I said I wanted to develop our cricket. There is a lot of positivity around and it is important we move forward with that,” he concluded.

It was also confirmed that three new cricket clubs have been welcomed into the Western Province Cricket Association, namely Wesbank, CPUT and Varsity College.