WP Blitz suffer T20 Challenge semi-final loss

In the second semi-final today, the Six Gun Grill Western Province Blitz took on the Gbets Rocks in the much-anticipated Western Cape derby.

Aftee winning the toss, WP Blitz opted to bat first as the Rocks put on a terrific bowling display to dismiss the Blitz openers within powerplay. Imran Manack (1/19) struck first, dismissing Richard Levi with just 14 runs in the third over, followed by Ziyaad Abrahams dismissing Tony de Zorzi for three runs and Dane Vilas caught by keeper, Clyde Fortuin off Siyabonga Mahima’s bowling as the Blitz found themselves on 37/3 at the end of the first 6 overs.

The WP Blitz struggled to form partnerships as the wickets kept falling, but Jonathan Bird’s 31 off 32 and Gavin Kaplan’s 31 off 31 contributed immensely to the Blitz innings. Bird was caught and bowled by von Berg and Kaplan caught by P. Malan for going for a maximum.

Ziyaad Abrahams claimed four wickets with 34 runs, after dismissing de Zorzi (2), Gavin Kaplan (31), Wayne Parnell (3), and Mihlali Mpongwana (5). Abrahams is the current leading wicket taker in the tournament in only four matches.

Siyabonga Mahima’s (2/24) and Shaun von Berg’s (2/19) collapsed the Blitz middle order, restricting them to 118 all out at the end of their innings.

In response, the Malan brothers steadied a 100-run partnership in 14 overs before the fall of the first wicket.

Skipper, Pieter Malan with 57 off 57, delivered his fourth half-century in the tournament as he paced the chase to perfection for his side, and with the support of Janneman Malan (39 off 35) the Rocks secured a comfortable 7-wicket victory in 18.1 overs.

Malan also showed great fielding with three major catches as the Rocks bowlers continued to dominate their neighbours.

The WP Blitz bowlers gained momentum and continued to apply pressure for the Rocks after dismissing P. Malan, J. Malan and Michael Copeland (0) with three runs in between as Rocks went from 100/0 to 104/3.

Clyde Fortuin (11*) and Ferisco Adams (6*) smashed three boundaries between them to finish the Rocks innings on 121/3.

The Gbets Rocks will take on the Momentum Multiply Titans in CSA T20 Challenge Final on Sunday, 27 February 2022 at 13h00.