WP Veterans win National Tournament, 7 players named in Proteas Veterans squad

At the conclusion of the inaugural Veterans Cricket Association of South Africa’s interprovincial for cricketers over the age of 50 years, the following players were selected to represent the Over 50s South African Proteas Veterans at the Africa/Middle East Tournament from 27 November – 5 December 2022, in Tshwane.

  1. Louis Koen (Captain) – Western Province
  2. Mario Solomons – Western Province
  3. James Albanie – Boland
  4. Morne Cilliers – Titans
  5. Alan Dawson – Western Province
  6. Clive Eksteen – Gauteng
  7. Kaiser Gantsho – Border
  8. Andre Geldenhuys – Boland
  9. Craig Lyons – Gauteng
  10. Saleem Mukuddem – Western Province
  11. Brandon Nash – Western Province
  12. Lefty Ngece – Border
  13. Andre Peters – Eastern Province
  14. Goolam Taliep – Western Province
  15. Bruce Wilson – Western Province
  16. Brad White – Gauteng

Non – travelling reserves:

  1. Steven Palframan – Western Province
  2. John Wearne – Gauteng
  3. Munier Holiday – Western Province
  4. Aqeel Cupido – Boland

The team will be captained by former Proteas cricketer, Louis Koen, who scored two hundreds during the week-long tournament. He is joined by other former Proteas cricketers, Clive Eksteen and Alan Dawson, with Stephen Palframan being named as one of the non-travelling reserves. Former Proteas veterans cricketers, Lefty Ngece and Bruce Wilson, are also included in the squad of sixteen. Andre Peters from Eastern Province was the Batsman of the Tournament, scoring 308 runs at an average of 103 runs per match, and seamer James Albanie from the Boland was the bowler of the tournament, taking 10 wickets for 165, which included one five-wicket haul. Both players are included in the squad.

Alan Dawson was named player of the tournament, scoring 119 runs and taking five wickets.

The tournament, sponsored by Evergreen Lifestyle, was held at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg. Western Province won the Cup section with Western Cape neighbours, Boland, narrowly edging out Border by one run to win the Plate Section.

The squad will take on Namibia, Zimbabwe and UAE from 27 November – 3 December 2022 at the Irene Country Club, Tshwane. At the conclusion of the quadrangular tournament, a final 18-man squad will be selected to play in the Over 50s Cricket World Cup in Cape Town from 06-20 March 2023.