Bird, Smith named in National Academy intake

Cricket South Africa (CSA) today named the 2020-2022 intake for the Powerade National Men’s Academy programme.

The Powerade National Academy (PNA) is a critical part of the CSA High-Performance pipeline and its primary objective is to successfully transition the high-performance development of players at senior provincial and franchise levels who have the potential to play professional and international cricket.

“The National Men’s Academy is run differently to the way it was run in the past,” commented CSA High-Performance Manager, Vincent Barnes. “It’s a three-year cycle run annually and not limited to three months at the CSA Centre of Excellence in Pretoria. Newly identified talent can be added to the selected list at any time during the cycle or be handed over to the South Africa “A” or Proteas teams, if promoted by the National Selection Panel.

“The selected squad forms the South Africa Emerging (SA Emerging) team which usually has an inbound or outbound tour. The team was due to tour Zimbabwe in July or August, but that outing has since been cancelled. An alternative will be announced at a later stage.

“As with so many of our other High-Performance programmes, COVID-19 has affected the PNA. The past few months have also seen a change in the coaching structure with Malibongwe Maketa taking over as coach of the Academy in the place of Shukri Conrad who now coaches the South Africa under-19s.

Powerade Men’s National Academy 2020-2022:

Joshua Richards (Imperial Lions), Matthew Breetzke (Warriors), Bryce Parsons (Gauteng), Sinethemba Qeshile (Warriors), Kabelo Sekhukune (Momentum Multiply Titans), Grant Roelofsen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Wandile Makwetu (VKB Knights), Gregory Mahlokwana (Momentum Multiply Titans), Lifa Ntanzi (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Gerald Coetzee (VKB Knights), Thando Ntini (Momentum Multiply Titans), Marco Jansen (Warriors), Stefan Tait (Warriors), Dayyaan Galiem (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tshepo Ntuli (Warriors), Jason Smith (Cape Cobras), Jonathan Bird (Cape Cobras).

The Powerade Women’s National Academy intake was announced in February 2020.

Powerade Women’s National Academy:

Micheala Andrews (SWD), Nobulemko Baneti (Border), Jade de Figuerido (KZN Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (WP), Lara Goodall (WP), Sinalo Jafta (WP), Tebogo Macheke (Limpopo), Nonkululeko Mahlaba (KZN Coastal), Khayakaze Mathe (Border), Gabisile Nkosi (Easterns), Robin Searle (Gauteng), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal), Delmi Tucker (North West), Faye Tunnicliffe (WP).