De Zorzi leads Cobras for CSA T20 Challenge

Batsman Tony de Zorzi has been named Captain of the Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras squad for the upcoming CSA T20 Challenge which is set to get underway in a bio-secure environment in Durban on Friday.

The 23-year-old De Zorzi captained the SA U19 squad during the 2016 U19 Cricket World Cup and, although it was unexpected news to receive on the eve of the tournament, he is excited about the challenge ahead:

“It is definitely an honour; something I wasn’t expecting to happen in my first season at the Cobras, but to be given the opportunity is something very special, especially at a franchise which has had so much success over the years, so to be leading a special and very talented bunch of players is going to be very exciting and I hope we can produce some positive results in this tournament for the people back in Cape Town.”

De Zorzi takes over the leadership reins from Zubayr Hamza who has captained the side during this season’s 4 Day Series and Momentum One Day Cup and coach Ashwell Prince is confident that the responsibility of captaincy being lifted from the young man’s shoulders will free him up to focus purely on regaining his form as a key batsman in the Cobras team.

“It’s been a tough season for Zubayr with the bat, and we really would like to see him regain his form that got him selected to the Proteas and the form that he displayed during last season’s Momentum Cup. He remains an important part of our leadership structure, but for this competition we’d just like him to focus on his batting.”

“Tony de Zorzi is a young player that has displayed great leadership qualities and he will captain the team in this competition.”

Prince will have Proteas players Janneman Malan, George Linde, Kyle Verreynne and Nandre Burger available for the tournament after their return from Pakistan and he believes that they will provide De Zorzi with great support. “We are delighted to have all our Proteas players available, and Tony will also benefit from having their experience around him. “

There is a call-up to the squad for young Boland-based wicket-keeper batsman Hlomla Hanabe who impressed during intra-squad training matches and will provide back-up to Kyle Verreynne and there’s another opportunity for Siya Mahima who impressed during the Momentum One Day Cup with his left-arm spin bowling. All-rounder Calvin Savage and bowler Tshepo Moreki are also included in the squad for the T20 Challenge.

All-rounder Aviwe Mgijima was unavailable for selection after sustaining a thumb injury.

Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras CSA T20 Challenge fixtures:

February 19: Hollywoodbets Dolphins vs Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras -14h30

February 21: Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras vs Momentum Multiply Titans – 10h00

February 22: VKB Knights vs Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras – 10h00

February 23: Warriors vs Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras – 10h00

February 26: Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras vs Imperial Lions 10h00

CSA T20 Challenge Squads:  

Imperial Lions: Temba Bavuma (capt), Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine  Pretorius, Delano Potgieter, Beuran Hendricks, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Bjorn Fortuin, Ryan Rickelton, Sisanda Magala, Malusi Siboto, Eldred Hawken, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Aaron Phangiso, Ruan Haasbroek. 

Hollywoodbets Dolphins: Keshav Maharaj (capt), Sarel Erwee, Khaya Zondo, Kerwin Mungroo, Robbie Frylinck, Keegan Petersen, Grant Roelofsen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Ruan de Swardt, Daryn Dupavillon, Mangaliso Mosehle, Senuran Muthusamy, Prenelan Subrayen, Eathan Bosch, Ottneil Baartman. 

Momentum Multiply Titans: Heinrich Klaasen (capt), Theunis de Bruyn, Grant Thomson, Henry Davids, Chris Morris, Sibonelo Makhanya, Dayyaan Galiem, Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Junior Dala, Okuhle Cele, Simon Harmer, Tabraiz Shamsi, Gregory Mahlokwana, Lungi Ngidi, Lizaad Williams. 

Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras: Tony de Zorzi (capt), Calvin Savage, Christiaan Jonker, Corbin Bosch, George Linde, Hlomla Hanabe, Imraan Manack, Janneman Malan, Jason Smith, Kyle Verreynne, Nandre Burger, Onke Nyaku, Siyabonga Mahima, Tshepo Moreki, Ziyaad               Abrahams, Zubayr Hamza. 

VKB Knights: Pite van Biljon (capt), Mbulelo Budaza, Jacques Snyman, Andries Gouws, Gerald Coetzee, Patrick Kruger, Shaun von Berg, Grant Mokoena, Farhaan Berhardien, Alfred Mothoa, Ferisco Adams, Wandile Makwetu, Raynard van Tonder, Matthew Kleinveldt, Jonathan Vandiar, Migael Pretorius.  

Warriors: Sinethemba Qeshile (capt), Gihahn Cloete, Jon-Jon Smuts, Wihan Lubbe, Lesiba Nqoepe, Marco Marais, Ayabulela Gqamane, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Anrich Nortje, Tshepo Ntuli, Mthiwekaya Nabe, Stefan Tait, Lizo Makosi, Triston Stubbs, Jade de Klerk.