Levi, Linde lead WP Blitz to opening win in T20 Challenge

The CSA T20 Challenge commenced with the Western Cape derby between Six Gun Grill Western Province Blitz and Gbets Rocks in Gqeberha on Monday.

After winning the toss and opting to bat, the Gbets Rocks opening batsman, Janneman Malan (29 off 19) and Christian Jonker’s 46 off 34 looked to stabilize the Rocks after the consecutive fall of wickets of Pieter Malan (0), Cebo Tshiki (2), and Clyde Fortuin (8). With the support of Ferisco Adams (34 off 28) the Rocks ended their innings on 142/6.

The Six Gun Grill Western Province Blitz’s bowling attack of George Linde (2/13) and Beuran Hendricks (2/28) was more than enough to limit the Rocks to 142 runs in their 20 overs.

In response, the WP Blitz opening batsman Richard Levi came through with 67 off 39 and laid an early foundation to set the Blitz up for a successful run chase. Aviwe Mgijima (26*), Dane Vilas (21) and George Linde (20*) saw the Blitz secure a 6-wicket victory, ending their inning on 143/4 in just 17 overs.

Gbets Rocks’ Hardus Viljoen, recorded 3/16 in 3 overs.

The Blitz take on the Warriors in our next encounter on February 9 from 14h30.

Watch all the games live on Supersport and follow ball-by-ball action on the CSA App.

Tickets are available at Ticketpros: