Smith powers Blitz to victory over North West

The Six Gun Grill Western Province Blitz recorded their first victory in the 2022/23 Cricket South Africa (CSA) T20 Challenge when they took on the North West Dragons on Thursday.

Western Province were put in to bat first and secured a comfortable 27-run victory against the Dragons. Inclement weather in Potchefstroom resulted in a delayed start and the match reduced to 18-overs per-side.

The opening 93-run partnership between Daniel Smith and Gavin Kaplan powered the Blitz to their first victory in the competition. Smith blasted a 69 off 46 balls (nine boundaries and three maximums) to record his maiden T20 half century. With Kaplan (39 off 26), the pair ensured a solid start for the Cape Town based side.

Kaplan departed in the 11th over, caught and bowled by Caleb Seleka. Smith then shared 41-runs with George Linde (21), who was run out by Seleka, and Hardus Coetzer clean bowled Smith two deliveries later.

Duan Jansen claimed two wickets with dismissals of Kyle Verreynne (17) and Abdullah Bayoumy (11) in the final over and the Western Province were 164/5 at the end of their innings.

Dragons, however, struggled to make any meaningful partnerships, losing three wickets within powerplay.

Opener, Heino Kuhn, was trapped leg-before-wicket by Nandre Burger without any runs in the first over and Lesego Senokwane, caught by Mihlali Mponganwa off Dane Paterson with two runs.

Wesley Marshall, who showed some resistance with 30 off 19 balls, was caught by Burger off Tshepo Moreki and Dragons slumped to 36/3. The wickets continued to fall for the Potchefstroom men, Delano Potgieter (9) and Shaylen Pillay (12) fell to Junaid Dawood and Burger, respectively.

Senuran Muthusamy and Duan Jansen tried to rebuild with a shared 42-run stand before Paterson struck again to dismiss Jansen for 23 runs.

Muthusamy was unbeaten in 39* off 25 and with Hardus Coetzee (15*), the Dragons ended the innings on 137/6.

Upcoming CSA T20 Challenge matches on Friday, 28 October 2022:

14h30: Dafabet Warriors vs Momentum Multiply Titans

18h00: Hollywoodbets Dolphins vs ITEC Knights