Vallie to captain Six Gun Grill WP for Warriors clash

Batman Yaseen Vallie will captain Six Gun Grill Western Province and will be hoping for a positive outcome this weekend when they take on the Gbets Warriors in the fourth round of the CSA-4 Day Series at St George’s Park, Gqeberha starting on Thursday.

Western Province fell to a heavy defeat against the Momentum Multiply Titans last week at Six Gun Grill Newlands, by an innings and 139 runs and with injuries (Nandre Burger, Mihlali Mpongwana and Tshepo Moreki) and national call-ups to both the SA A and Proteas squads (Bueran Hendricks, George Linde, Tony de Zorzi, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Verreynne and Zubayr Hamza) wreaking havoc with coach Salieg Nackerdien’s squad, this weekend will see the inclusion of bowler Ziyaad Abrahams – who is joining the side on loan from The Rocks.

WP Academy batsman Bonga Makaka, who performed well for the WP Colts team in the 3 Day and 1 Day match against Boland Colts last week, has been added to the squad, whilst Daniel Smith will take over the glove work from Kyle Verreynne who has joined up with the Proteas for the Netherlands series. Gavin Kaplan and Kieran Kenny will also get another run in the team to build on their positive individual performances in their respective debuts against the Titans.

There’s also an inclusion into the squad for WP schoolboy (SACS), left-arm seamer Liyema Waqu, who will be looking to gain experience in a professional environment. He was also recently announced as a member of the WP U19 Squad to participate in the CSA Khaya Majola Cricket Week from 18 – 22 December 2021 in Potchefstroom.

Warriors will be approaching the game on a high following their victory last week over North West Dragons by 130 runs at Potchefstroom.

The match begins on Thursday 25 November and you can catch the game live on the SuperSport YouTube Channel.

Six Gun Grill Western Province Squad: Yaseen Vallie (Captain), Aviwe Mgjima, Basheer Walters, Bonga Makaka, Daniel Smith (w/k), David Bedingham, Gavin Kaplan, Jonathan Bird, Kieran Kenny, Kyle Simmonds, Liyema Waqu, Yves Kamanzi, Ziyaad Abrahams

P W L Tied D Aban Bat Bowl Penalty Pts
Imperial Lions 3 3 0 0 0 0 10,14 12 0 70,14
ITEC Knights 3 1 0 0 2 0 15,88 11 0 54,88
Gbets Warriors 3 2 1 0 0 0 7,18 12 0 51,18
Momentum Multiply Titans 3 1 1 0 1 0 11,76 9 0 42,76
Hollywoodbets Dolphins 3 0 0 0 3 0 11,46 9 0 38,46
GbetsRocks 3 0 1 0 2 0 9,96 9 0 30,96
Six Gun Grill WP 3 0 1 0 2 0 9,38 7 0 28,38
North West Dragons 3 0 3 0 0 0 8,90 8 0 16,90