WP announce contracted squad for 2020/2021 season

Western Province Cricket Association have announced the contracted players who will form part of the Men’s Senior Provincial Squad for the 2020 / 2021 season. 

​In announcing the squad, Western Province Men’s Senior Provincial coach Paul Adams paid tribute to some of the departing senior players and welcomed their replacements. “Firstly, I would like to pay tribute to three of Western Province stalwarts Qaasim Adams, Matthew Kleinveldt and Justin Dill for their commitment and outstanding performances for the Province over the years. We wish them well on their journey and future endeavours.”

“Having lost three stalwarts, we have managed to put together a squad that has experience and youth who are aspiring to play at the highest level. With the addition of Brendon Louw into our squad, it will bring experience in the middle order and quality glove-work,” he added.

“Retaining talent within Western Province is important to our pipeline therefore we have rewarded the following young players who have come through the Provincial Schooling and Academy structure – Bonga Makaka, Lehan Botha and Jesse Christensen.”

WP Cricket Services Manager Clinton du Preez is confident that this squad has the potential to challenge for honours in the coming season.

“We are happy with the group of players selected for our squad, the new additions, Lerato Kgoatle and Brendon Louw bring experience in various skill-sets and we’re looking forward to having their services at WP. Coupled with this, is the belief shown to our structure, young players from our Academy being given the opportunity and backing, with David Schierhout and Zac Elkin rewarded on the back of successful Club Cricket seasons and making their WP debuts last season.”

“We have a strong Academy base of players who got a taste of Senior Provincial cricket last season and can be called upon at any stage,” he concluded.

“It is a challenging time for all of us during the period of COVID-19 and we will need to be prepared for whatever lies ahead. We would like to wish everyone good health, to be safe and take care of their families during this period and we will see you next season on the cricket field,” Adams concluded.

Western Province Senior Men Provincial Squad 2020 / 2021: Lehan Botha, Jesse Christensen, Zac Elkin, Lerato Kgoatle, Ryan Klein, Brendon Louw, Bonga Makaka, Andre Malan, Mihlali Mpongwana, Jack Newby, David Schierhout

Head Coach: Paul Adams

Assistant Coach: Dieter Swanepoel