WP, Boland name squads for 2021/2022 season

Cricket South Africa (CSA), in conjunction with the eight top-tier provincial teams, is pleased to announce the final squads that will compete in Division 1 next season. 

The teams and their positioning in the new domestic cricket structure were finalised early last month when an Independent Evaluation Committee (IEC) revealed the look of the new South African cricket landscape following a bidding process that was open to all 15 unions. 

Boland, Central Gauteng Lions, Eastern Province, Free State, KwaZulu-Natal (Coastal), North West, Northerns and Western Province were the successful candidates during that process.  

“This is an exciting time for everyone involved in South African cricket as we look ahead to a new era that will start in 2021/22,” CSA Acting Chief Executive Officer, Pholetsi Moseki, stated.  

“At initial glance, the squads all look extremely well balanced and that can only bode well for everyone as we anticipate a strengthened domestic cricket system.” 

The squads themselves are highly impressive as some of the best talent has been spread across the country. 

Boland CEO James Fortuin said: “We’re just extremely excited and I really want to thank our fans for their support and playing what we feel was a big role in getting us this status. The squad we have assembled is one of exceptional experience. It is also an exciting squad and one that can help us build well beyond the next two years.” 

Western Province placed experience as their priority area of strengthening with former Proteas Hashim Amla, Vernon Philander and Wayne Parnell being recruited, together with Basheer Walters and David Bedingham. 

WP Interim CEO Tennyson Botes said: “We are proud to have attracted some of Cape Town’s greatest homegrown and adopted sons back to Six Gun Grill Newlands. As we go into a new era of domestic cricket, we know that their experience will be invaluable to the young talent, which continues to come through our development pipelines, as we continue our success in producing players for the Proteas. The valuable combination of experience and youth will be the perfect tonic for when we welcome back our supporters. We look forward to the season ahead!”   

The full list of squads for the 2021/22 season is: 

Western Province: Zubayr Hamza, Kyle Verreynne, George Linde, Tony De Zorzi, Nandre Burger, Yaseen Vallie, Kyle Simmonds, Jonathan Bird, Hashim Amla, Mihlali Mpongwana, Tshepo Moreki, David Bedingham, Aviwe Mgijima, Vernon Philander, Basheer Walters, Wayne Parnell, Beuran Hendricks (national contract). 

Boland: Janneman Malan, Pieter Malan, Hardus Viljoen, Is-maeel Gafieldien, Ferisco Adams, Siyabonga Mahima, Christiaan Jonker, Ruan Terblanche, Imraan Manack, Shaun von Berg, Michael Copeland, Zakhele Qwabe, Clyde Fortuin, Achille Cloete, Stiaan van Zyl, Ziyaad Abrahams, Kyle Abbott.

KwaZulu-Natal (Coastal): Marques Ackerman, Ottneil Baartman, Eathan Bosch, Ruan de Swardt, Daryn Dupavillon, Sarel Erwee, Thamsanqa Khumalo, Kerwin Mungroo, Lifa Ntanzi, Thando Ntini, Bryce Parsons, Keegan Petersen, Grant Roelofsen, Jason Smith, Prenelan Subrayen, Khaya Zondo, Andile Phehlukway (national contract), David Miller (national contract), Keshav Maharaj (national contract). 

Central Gauteng Lions: Bjorn Fortuin, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Kagiso Rapulana, Ryan Rickleton. Joshua Richards, Sisanda Magala, Dominic Hendricks, Tladi Bokako, Malusi Siboto, Duanne Olivier, Ruan Haasbroek, Tshepo Ntuli, Mitchell van Buuren, Codi Yusuf,   Levert Manje, Kagiso Rabada (national contract), Rassie van der Dussen (national contract), Temba Bavuma (national contract), Reeza Hendricks (national contract). 

North West: Delano Potgieter, Lesego Senokwane, Nicky van den Bergh, Senuran Muthusamy, Nono Pongolo, Eldred Hawken, Heino Kuhn, Lwandiswa Zuma, Shaylen Pillay, Wesley Marshall, Ndumiso Mvelase, Eben Botha, Johannes Diseko, Duan Jansen, Chad Classen, Jason Oakes, Dwaine Pretorius (national contract). 

Eastern Province: Matthew Breetzke, Wihan Lubbe, Sinethemba Qeshile, Jon-Jon Smuts, Eddie Moore, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Rudi Second, Akhona Mnyaka, Lesiba Ngoepe, Diego Rosier, Tristan Stubbs, Dane Paterson, Kabelo Sekhukhune, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Tsepo Ndwandwa, Anrich Nortje (national contract). 

Northerns: Lizaad Williams, Okhule Cele, Theunis de Bruyn, Dayyaan Galiem, Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Neil Brand, Sibonelo Makhanya, Corbin Bosch, Aaron Phangiso, Chris Morris, Dewald Brevis, Ayabulela Gqamane, Jiveshen Pillay, Grant Mokoena, Simon Harmer, Aiden Markram (national contract), Lungi Ngidi (national contract), Quinton de Kock (national contract), Tabraiz Shamsi (national contract), Dean Elgar (national contract), Heinrich Klaasen (national contract).  

Free State: Mbulelo Budaza, Gerald Coetzee, Patrick Kruger, Wandile Makwetu, Migael Pretorius, Jacques Snyman, Pite van Biljon, Raynard van Tonder, Farhaan Behardien, Patrick Botha, Matthew Kleinveldt, Gregory Mohlokwana, Mangaliso Mosehle, Alfred Mothoa, Dilivio Ridgaard, Nealan van Heerden.