WP Squads named for Provincial tournaments

Western Province Cricket Association have named the WP Men’s and Women’s Squads for the upcoming Provincial tournaments which will be played in bio-secure environments in Kimberley and Cape Town respectively.

The WP Men’s team will be heading to Kimberley to take part in Pool D action from March 16-28 against Northerns, Northern Cape and the SA U19 team whilst the WP Women’s team, sponsored by Mitchum, will have home ground advantage in Pool A when they take on Northerns and Gauteng from March 16-23 in Cape Town.

WP Men’s Coach Paul Adams: “It’s been the longest pre-season in history, but we’re just happy to be able to prepare for some competitive cricket. We’ve put a strong side together with some experienced players, along with some exciting young talent who are looking to make an impact at a higher level.”

WP Women’s Coach Claire Terblanche: “It’s tough to not have our Proteas available and some of our senior women who weren’t able to get leave from their full-time jobs for this tournament, but it’s an opportunity for new leaders to step up and the opportunity for the next generation of young ladies to show that they can shine at this level. We’re just excited to get onto the park again.”

Clinton du Preez, WPCA Cricket Services Manager: “I want to thank the respective coaches for keeping the players motivated and ready for action throughout the season, despite not having any confirmed fixtures up until recently. It might be a shortened season but it’s still an opportunity to represent your province, which I know the players will take with both hands. We wish them all good luck. We’re also particularly proud that we have representatives in the SA U19 team who will be competing in our pool so I’m excited to see how the next generation take to the step up in standard.”

Tennyson Botes, WPCA CEO: “Good luck to Paul and Claire and their respective teams, we have no doubt that they will represent the WP badge with pride and continue to bring success to the organization.”

Western Province Men’s Squad: Zachary Elkin (Captain), Andre Malan, Bonga Makaka, Brendon Louw, David Schierhout, Jack Newby, Jesse Christensen, Lehan Botha, Lerato Kgoatle, Mihlali Mpongwana, Ryan Klein, Kai Curran, Diego du Plessis, Yves Kamanzi, Lwando Tywaku

Coach: Paul Adams

Assistant Coach: Gurshwin Rabie

Fitness and Conditioning Coach: Siphokazi Happiness Mesi

Western Province Women’s Squad: Andrie Steyn (Captain), Robyn Appels, Leah Jones, Kelsey Adams, Kayla Reyneke, Saarah Smith, Nadia Mbokotwana, Delmari Tucker, Anri Grobbelaar, Tatum le Roux, Nosopho Vezi, Yandiswa Mengele, Christine Tomlinson, Sinelethu Yaso, Tabitha la Grange.

Coach: Claire Terblanche

Team Manager: Gabi-Lee van der Westhuizen

Strength and Conditioning Coach: Mersha Mentoor