WP u19’s Class of 2022 are Khaya Majola Week Champions

Coetzenberg, Stellenbosch, 18th December 2022

It has taken 10 years and seven attempts for the WP u19’s to triumph in the Main Match at the Khaya Majola Week. This year it was Juan James‘s team that emulated the feat of David Bedingham and his young men of 2012, as they overwhelmed KwaZulu-Natal Inland by 146 runs in the feature game.

The cherry (presumably a 156g Kookaburra one…) on top was the naming of Juan as the SA Schools Captain for 2022, with Player of the Tournament WP keeper/batter Bongile Mfunelwa and tearaway pace bowler Liyema Waqu (for the second consecutive year) joining him in the team. To complete the national representation, batter Maahir Joseph was selected for the SA Colts team.

Juan James
Bongile Mfunelwa
Liyema Waqu








The outstanding WP team were a class above their rivals, with dominating performances in the rain-shortened week. Coach Roger Telemachus‘s charges achieved the following results:

Thursday 15th December 

Western Province won by 182 runs.

Western Province 248: (Bongile Mfunelwa 91, Juan James 40, Fayaad Daniels 23, Jordan Neill 21; Jonathan Muller 3/39, Khanyisile Nondwangu 2/22, Sicelo Matayi 2/32);

Free State 66 (Foster Lubbe 18; Asakhe Tsaka 2/13, Cameron Fraser 2/15, Fayaad Daniels 2/24).

Friday 16th December

Match abandoned – Western Province’s opening batsman Maahir Joseph (69*) recorded the highest individual score of the day with his half-century against KwaZulu-Natal Inland before rain intervened.

Saturday 17th December

Western Province won by five wickets.

North West 85: (Dewald du Plessis 37; Liyema Waqu 4/38, Abdullah Bayoumy 2/9, Cameron Fraser 2/24);

Western Province 87/5: (Maahir Joseph 31, Juan James 27; Samuel Bobraine 2/19, Paballo Madisa 2/42).

Sunday 18th December

Western Province won by 146 runs.

Western Province 218: (Bongile Mfunelwa 66, Juan James 38, Maahir Joseph 30; Jake Carstens 3/38, Matthew Urquhart 2/13, Ross Boast 2/36)

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 72: (Jake Carstens 15; Asakhe Tsaka 4/19, Liyema Waqu 2/14)