WPCA Statement on New Year’s Test Match

Cricket South Africa today announced a key schedule change for the tour of India to South Africa. The New Year’s Freedom Test Match has been moved from the Imperial Wanderers in Johannesburg to Cape Town’s Six Gun Grill Newlands and WPCA CEO Michael Canterbury welcomed the decision.

“On behalf of the Western Province Cricket Association President and Board, we want to thank Cricket South Africa for once again awarding the traditional New Year’s Test back to Six Gun Grill Newlands, it’s indeed an honour,” said WPCA CEO Michael Canterbury.

“There is no doubt that the cricket loving public of Cape Town will be keen to be part of the occasion, we will communicate regarding the availability of tickets as soon as possible. The current government restrictions on sporting events will need to be taken into account in our planning with Cricket South Africa.”

All the Test matches are part of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2021-23 cycle.


1st Test – Dec 17-21: Imperial Wanderers, Johannesburg

2nd Test – Dec 26-30: SuperSport Park, Centurion

3rd Test – Jan 3-7: Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town

1st ODI – Jan 11: Boland Park, Paarl

2nd ODI – Jan 14: Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town

3rd ODI – Jan 16: Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town

1st T20 – Jan 19: Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town

2nd T20 – Jan 21: Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town

3rd T20 – Jan 23: Boland Park, Paarl

4th T20 – Jan 26: Boland Park, Paarl