WPCC to represent WP at CSA T20 Community Cup

The Cricket South Africa (CSA) T20 Community Cup 2021/22 gets underway this weekend between 22 – 24 April 2022 in Pretoria.

The 2022 edition of the CSA T20 Community Cup will see five clubs from the different provinces showcasing their talent.

GM Old Edwardians CC (Lions Cricket), Clares CC (KZN Coastal), Burma Lads CC (Northern Cape), Irene Villagers CC (Titans Cricket), Western Province CC (Western Province), and SA Rural (Invitational Team).

The SA Rural Team, selected from both the Inland and Coastal tournaments, will also be competing for the title.

TUT Oval at the Tshwane University of Technology main campus, Mandela Oval in Hammanskraal and Sinovich Park in Sinoville, and Laudium Oval will host this year’s tournament.

CSA Senior Cricket Manager, Johan Weyers, said; “Club cricket serves to create an environment that attracts and retains individuals who want to participate in the game of cricket within our communities.

“The CSA T20 Community Cup is mainly for community-based clubs and aims to provide a higher level of playing exposure to Premier League clubs.

“This competition is in line with Cricket South Africa’s commitment to maximise player opportunities, build character and develop skills on a competitive stage for club cricketers.”

Six Gun Grill Western Province all-rounder Kyle Simmonds has been named in the Western Province Cricket Club squad.


GM Old Edwardians CC (Lions Cricket): Callum Broodryk, Cameron Brunner, Andile Gladile, Gareth Harte, Calvin Johnson, Joshua Lang, Obakeng Maila, Reade Metzer, Lhaundre Pretorius, Muzzi Sheik, Luxolo Tsewu, Mitchell Van Buuren, Murray Workman.

Brandon Buckley (Coach), Arnold Ndindwa (Manager).

Clares CC (KZN Coastal): Tylor Trenoworth, John Riekert, Mike Alexander, Bruce Kerr, Jason Wagner, Aatish Maharaj, Abdul Haq Razak, Jesse Smit, Thando Ntini, Kerwin Mungroo, Vyash Gobind, Semel Pillay, Jawaad Aziz.

Fabian Lazarus (Coach), Bharath Maharaj (Manager).

Burma Lads CC (Northern Cape): Aidan Brooker, Nathan Plaatjies, Aubrey Swanepoel, Reuben Visagie, Chesley Barnes, Tristan Traugott, Mi-Chaelle Robinson, Wiehan Du Plessis, Zandre Swartz, Richard Baardt, Ethene Kruger, Werner Schimper, Naziel Adams

Heinrich Stride (Coach), Donavan Pillay (Manager).

Irene Villagers CC (Titans Cricket): Zendon Verster, Robert Farina, Junior Dala, Lance Trueman, Tema Mpete, Wayde Damon, Sibusiso Maseko, Bradley Joynt, Dian Liebenberg, Jacques Porter, Zakir Zafdar, Ryan Herselman, Jaco Moster.

Byron Fraser (Coach), Douglas Yates (Manager).

Western Province CC (Western Province): Derek Mitchell, James Crowson, Givon Christian, Nic Barlow, Dan Da Costa, Junaid Allie, Justin Behrens, Alex Draai, Kyle Simmonds, Luke Petersen, Siya Plaatjie, Bailey Aarons, Shawn Dyson.

Laurie Ward (Coach), Curtis Fourie (Manager).

SA Rural Team: Nathan Engelbrecht, Grant Essau, Levin Muller, Loyiso Mzaso, Sias Willemse, Andrew Louw, Francois Van Rooyen, Aviwe Tisane, Thandeni Majeba, Sivedh Ramprith, Kevin Pretorius, Basil Jr George, Ridewan Mlongo, Ettienne Bezuidenhout.

Lwane Landu (Coach), Christo Gous (Manager).


All matches will be available on PitchVision.