WP’s Fabulous Five to Represent SA at ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Cape Town, Tuesday 31st January 2023

Western Province Cricket Association congratulates the following Women’s cricketers on their selection for the Momentum Proteas Squad, which will carry SA’s flag at the upcoming ICC T20 Women’s World Cup.

Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Sinalo Jafta, Delmi Tucker and Laura Wolvaardt.

It will be Lara, Sinalo and Delmi’s first appearances in a T20 World Cup, with Nadine being selected for the second time, and Laura playing in her third edition of the tournament.

South Africa made it to the semi-finals of the last tournament, narrowly missing an appearance in the final, after a 5 run loss to champions Australia. WP and SA’s star batter, Laura Wolvaardt, was at the crease at the end of the run-chase, and will be wanting to take the team to the final this time round, to claim the title and trophy for South Africa.

What better place for these outstanding women’s cricketers to achieve this, than at the Home of Cricket in South Africa, the picturesque and iconic Newlands Cricket Ground.

Commenting on the squad selection, WP Women’s coach Claire Terblanche expressed her support for her ladies: “It is always a privilege and honour to have our WP Women wearing the green and gold. Having the ICC T20 Women’s World Cup on home soil is going to be extra special and we support them all the way! Always proud of our ladies’ achievements and we hope they put on a show for the public!”

Full Squad

Suné Luus (Fidelity Titans) (Captain), Chloé Tryon (Hollywoodbets Dolphins) (Vice-Captain), Anneke Bosch (North West Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Annerie Dercksen (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Sinalo Jafta (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (DP World Lions), Masabata Klaas (North West Dragons), Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Delmi Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Province) 


South Africa’s Fixtures – ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023  

Friday, 10 February – 19h00 (SAST)

Group A Match 1 – South Africa vs Sri Lanka (Newlands, Cape Town)

Monday, 13 February – 19h00 (SAST) 

Group A Match 2 – South Africa vs New Zealand (Boland Park, Paarl)

Saturday, 18 February – 19h00 (SAST) 

Group A – Match 3 – South Africa vs Australia (St George’s Park, Gqeberha)

Tuesday, 21 February – 19h00 (SAST)  

Group A Match 4 – South Africa vs Bangladesh (Newlands, Cape Town)

Thursday, 23 February – 15h00 (SAST) 

Semi-Final 1 (Newlands, Cape Town)

Friday, 24 February – 15h00 (SAST)  

Semi-Final 2 (Newlands, Cape Town)

Sunday, 26 February – 15h00 (SAST) 

Final (Newlands, Cape Town)