WSB WP names a strong squad for the CSA T20 Challenge

NEWLANDS – World Sports Betting Western Province has turned the focus to the shortest format as head coach Salieg Nackerdien names his squad for the CSA T20 Challenge.

Having successfully won the CSA One Day Cup earlier this season and finished second in the recent CSA 4-Day Series competition, Nackerdien has picked a strong side as Province is set to travel to Durban for the first match of the campaign.

Kyle Verreynne will lead the side which sees the return of Wayne Parnell. The seasoned pro hasn’t featured this season due to a lengthy injury.

He returned to action during the Betway SA20 for Pretoria Capitals following his full recovery.

Another notable return is batter David Bedingham who missed the 4-Day Series final having done well during the recent South Africa series to New Zealand.

The team will face Hollywoodbets Dolphins in their opening fixture of the tournament on Friday, 08 March 2024 (18:00) at Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium.

Verreynne believes the team will be looking to continue with their winning momentum through the T20 Challenge.

“I think the guys are really excited and looking forward to it. We had a really successful whiteball campaign at the start of the season. The squad will predominantly be the same,” said Verreynne.

“The brand of cricket and the style that we’ve been playing all season has been positive and I think we’re going to look to continue that as much as we can in the T20 competition.”

Verreynne added that the team is currently in a good space.

“I think it’s a double round of T20s, which is quite exciting – it’s quite a long competition which we haven’t had for a long time. We’re just trying to stay nice and fresh. We’re really looking forward to it and can’t wait to get going,” he adds.

I think the team’s in a really good space and hopefully, we can have a successful T20 campaign.”

You can visit Ticket Pro to purchase your tickets for all our home games starting on Sunday, 10 March 2024 against AET Tuskers, the match starting at 14:00.


World Sports Betting Western Province CSA T20 Challenge Squad:

Kyle Verreynne (Captain), Tony de Zorzi, Abdallah Bayoumy, Beuran Hendricks (Vice Captain), Dane Paterson, Daniel Smith, Gavin Kaplan, George Linde, Kyle Simmonds, Mihlali Mpongwana, Nandre Burger, Wayne Parnell, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Wesley Bedja, Eddie Moore, Onke Nyaku, David Bedingham, Jono Bird, Dane Paterson, Yaseen Vallie, Valentine Kitime, Juan James.