Six Gun Grill WP Women confirm Squad for 2022/2023 Season

Cricket South Africa (CSA), together with the 16 provincial teams, have announced the domestic women’s squads for the 2022/23 season.

Like their male counterparts, the CSA Women’s set-up consists of two divisions. There are top six teams in Division One, whilst Division Two is divided into two pools of five-team each.

The North West Dragons’ Women and the Six Gun Grill Western Province Women are the reigning champions in the CSA Women’s Provincial One-Day tournament and CSA Women’s Provincial T20, respectively.

In the previous season, Eastern Storm Women concluded the season at the bottom of the log in Division One and faced automatic relegation.

The Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers Women then gained promotion to Women’s Division One after winning the play-offs against Free State Women in April. The two teams topped their pools in Division Two and went head-to-head for the top spot.

Division One teams include five (5) semi-professional player contracts that are offered to their top cricketers.

The top performers from the upcoming season will be aiming for a call-up to the various national training camps later this year, with hopes of representing the Momentum Proteas in next year’s hugely anticipated ICC Women’s T20 World Cup that will be hosted in South Africa.

It’s also an immense year coming up for the younger crop of players on the domestic scene as they look to impress SA U19 and National Academy head coach, Dinesha Devnarain, ahead of the inaugural ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup that will also take place on home soil in January 2023.

Commenting of the season’s prospects, CSA Head of Cricket Pathways, Edward Khoza, said; “The 2022/23 season is a very exciting year for women’s cricket in the country.

“The first two months into 2023 will see our U19 Girls and Momentum Proteas battle it out for top honors as we get to host the inaugural ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup and the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in the country.

“CSA has been making huge strides with the development of women in our bid to professionalize the game. Through national and semi-professional contracts, the CSA national weeks and Talent Acceleration program, and various systems in our pipeline, we look to ensure that we develop the best talent our country has to offer.

Khoza also congratulated the Badgers Women’s team for gaining promotion into Women’s Division One.

“This is another milestone achieved in the history of women’s cricket in the country. This incredible outfit has been knocking on the door for the top spot for a couple of seasons now. It is great to see their tenacity paying off and we wish them all the best in the Women’s Division One,” Khoza concluded.

Six Gun Grill Western Province Women: Sinelethu Yaso, Kayla Reyneke, Stacey Lackay, Robyn Appels, Yandiswa Mangele, Kelsey Adams, Anri Grobbelaar, Christine Tomlinson, Michelle Mutongawafa, Yasmeen Khan, Babette de Leede.

Semi-Pro Contracts: Saarah Smith, Leah Jones, Nosipho Vesi, Delmi Tucker, Tatum le Roux.

National Contracts: Laura Wolvaardt, Lara Goodall, Sinalo Jafta.

CSA HP Contracts: Nadine de Klerk, Andrie Steyn, Faye Tunnicliffe.